Watching Daniel Bloom

Fishy Subjects: Omega 3,6,9 and Speech Delay….It’s Worth a Try

Posted on: January 10, 2012

As usual, I’ve been reading…and reading…and reading about the many (possible) challenges we’re facing with Daniel (autism spectrum, apraxia, echolalia, speech delay, specific language impairment….etc.etc.etc)…and for once, something seems to be appearing again and again that is resonating with me. Specifically, I keep seeing references to studies about Omega 3 and other essential fatty acids, and their effect on children with speech delay. It’s not just speech delays that are referenced – ADHD and other neurodevelopmental disorders seem (in studies) to often respond positively to Omega 3 supplements (see below for some studies – I’ll add more when I get organized).

Beyond the studies, in the feedback I’ve read from parents who have given their kids Omega supplements, I consistently see references to increased attention, decreased frustration, and overall better mood/attitude. In many cases, the response was seen very, very fast (almost immediately).  This is incredibly important because for kids like Daniel to really respond to/benefit from treatment like speech therapy, they must first have the patience to sit, listen, and participate in back-and-forth communication.

As the daughter of a pediatrician, I tend to rely on traditional medicine (and remain skeptical about homeopathic medicine). As a result, supplements are not a natural “go-to” reaction for me. However, I also believe that traditional medicine doesn’t have all the answers, and I believe that there are some simple, natural supplements that could be very beneficial that may be overlooked/underestimated by our pharma-driven medical world.

With that in mind, we’ve started on our own little fishy trial. The stuff (we’re using Nordic Naturals) tastes vile…and cannot be hidden in any food without making the food taste equally vile. So, I will continue to torture my little boy to get the rancid stuff down his throat with a medicine dropper, and hope that the chocolate chip cookie afterwards takes away some of the pain.

We’re four days in…and as crazy as it sounds, I swear I hear a difference – Daniel sounds clearer, seems to be saying more words (in a more advanced way), and is far more readily trying to repeat my words to improve his pronunciation. I realize that it’s impossible to draw any conclusions (you never know when a “growth spurt” is coming and this could be – in fact likely is – a complete coincidence); but when I mentioned it to my darling husband, he agreed. Even more powerful, this morning, Charlotte (who knew nothing of the new fishy regimen or what it was for) cried out to me, “Mommy, guess what? I can understand now what Daniel is saying to me!”

Placebo? I wonder….

“Biological Psychiatry”; Omega-3 Fatty Acids Supplementation in Children With Autism: A Double-Blind Randomized, Placebo-Controlled Pilot Study; G.P. Amminger, et al.; February 2007

“Omega-3 fatty acids in ADHD and related neurodevelopmental disorders.”

1 Response to "Fishy Subjects: Omega 3,6,9 and Speech Delay….It’s Worth a Try"

I started using nordics omega 369, for my son who has severe speech delay, he’s 3 yrs 3 months, only being using for a month, and other people can see an improvement,.i’m not so sure at the moment, i’m using it more to try with concentration, speech therapist has said his concentration is poor and can’t really help until it improves.

Leave a Reply

