Watching Daniel Bloom

Daniel’s best friend

Posted on: May 14, 2011

I spend so much time thinking about – and therefore writing about – Daniel, that it must seem at times that I have no time for my other, most amazing, incredible, wonderful and loving child, Charlotte.

Nothing could be further from the truth.

Not a day goes by that I don’t thank God and the heavens and whatever else I can thank for my perfectly lovely little girl, who is beyond adorable, and who never, ever fails to make me laugh at least once a day. She is, it’s fair to say, a bit quirky, with a solid dose of humour, and she certainly comes with her own brand of “challenging”, but she is also my daily dose of love, strength and hope, and she always has more of that to spare whenever I need it most. I relish every last minute with her, even when she’s driving me around the bend :). I also routinely sit and stare at her, in awe of the incredible little girl that I somehow managed to play a part in creating.

But with all that said, I realize, clearly, that she is not immune to everything that’s going on. In fact, she feels it acutely every day as she’s asked to make special concessions for her brother – over, and over, and over again. And somehow, she does it with grace, and with love, and with patience (most of the time :))

I realize that when you’re an older sister, making concessions goes with the territory (I happen to be an older sister to a younger brother myself), but I’m also aware that Charlotte has to make far, far more than her fair share. And amazingly enough, she somehow seems to understand. More often than not, she simply backs down when asked, and does as she’s told, quietly, and calmly. She knows. She understands. And she loves her little brother like no one else in the world.

She’s also the best friend, speech therapist, and physiotherapist Daniel (or I) could ever ask for. She pushes Daniel in ways that no one else could, and she does it with the maturity and patience of someone decades older than her.

So if, for some reason, she ever reads this, I want her to know that through everything, she has been amazing – mature beyond her years when it mattered most, and the most amazing daughter, sister, and most importantly – friend – that Daniel ever could have asked for.

Leave a Reply

