Watching Daniel Bloom

Reason #13 to be thankful – our new speech therapist

Posted on: March 12, 2011

We started with a new speech therapist – through the government-funded program – and she’s great. Beyond the fact that she’s clearly very experienced and great at what she does, she also opened up to me about the fact that her own son has epilepsy.

Just over a decade ago, she (like me) was preparing for a 5-day stay in the neurology ward at Sick Kids for EEG monitoring. I cannot tell you how nice it was to speak to another mom who had walked in similar shoes. I finally felt like I had a kindred spirit who could understand what I was going through. She told me it wasn’t fun, and it basically sucks when you’re in the middle of it, but that before you know it, you’re done and you move forward. She also told me that her son was seizure-free for over 6 years, and that his epilepsy is well-controlled. I know enough to know that every case is different, but it still helped to hear that.

Like the visit from John before Christmas, I really believe this was “meant to be”.  Another check on my “reasons to be thankful” list.

Leave a Reply

